Databases

List of prisoners in the Via Tasso prison. October 1943-June 1944. Datbases.

The Historical Museum of the Liberation commissioned 2006 a study aimed to identify the names and reconstruction of biographical profiles of those who, between September 1943 and June 1944, were held in prison and also of those who passed through there for a few hours. Linked to this purpose, there was also the reconstruction of the operation of the prison serial number office. The work, carried out by Glielmi Alessia and Giovanna Montani, ended 2007. The data were collected in a database created ad hoc currently available at the Historical Museum of the Liberation. The database is composed of fields, designed and divided into types of heterogeneous and related data. It contains:

Personal data of the detainee:
Full name, formal name, date and place of birth, place and date of death, place of residence, profession, military department, membership training.

Data relating to the capture of the subject:
Place, date and reasons for the arrest, executor, informant.

Data relating to the detention period at Via Tasso:
Entry date, release date, release and destination reasons following the release from prison, the previous or further detention compared to that one in the-the prison in Via Tasso, cell number, any legal proceedings suffered by the prisoner.

Data relating to notations of historical biographical:
Historical biographical notes

Data including used sources:

Bibliographic and archive sources, direct testimonies, in a specific field are indicated photographic sources if any are given

Databases on political prisoners of the German branch of Regina Coeli in the period October 1943-June 1944.

The database contains the names and data relating to the holding in the German branch of the Regina Coeli prison of political prisoners who passed through between September 1943 and June 1944. The data search implementation work was carried out by Martin and Daniela Giovanna Montani. The database is composed of fields, designed and divided into types of heterogeneous and related data. It contains:

Personal data of the detainee:
Full name, formal name, date and place of birth, place and date of death, place of residence.

Data relating to the capture of the subject:
Place, date and reasons for the capture

Data including used sources:
Bibliographic and archive sources

Database - Art and Resistance in Rome and Lazio. Between history and memory
It began as a collection of iconographic data and documentaries on the themes of resistance from 1943 to today, and their different modes of representation in the visual arts, from painting, sculpture, graphics.

The database, together with the most famous works of artists who were directly involved in the events of the Resistance or interpreters of a civil and political commitment that arises from this, collects various and heterogeneous productions - paintings, illustrations, book covers, posters, monumental sculptures, reliefs, medals, stamps, graphic cards for political or propaganda materials - sometimes only of a documentary nature or artwork, that make up a rich and varied visual heritage of the Resistance events and the various modes of representation, remembrance and celebration, through more than sixty years of national history.

Among the images of particular interest were those of some authors who depicted almost "live" the detention in Via Tasso prison cells, in which the museum is housed today. These works were realized by artists who were detained in Nazi prisons because of their partisan activities such as Michele and Francesco Multedo Cretara, or realized by Guido Gregorietti and based on direct testimonies of prisoners, as Vincenzo Florio.


DORER. Documents of the Resistance in Rome and Lazio
It is a collection of over 1,500 selected documents in different archives created by Cesare de Simone and implemented with the coordination of Augusto Pompeo, archivist of State. The collection was promoted by IRSIFAR and the Provincial Committee of Rome ANPI, with the financial contributions of the Region Lazio and the Municipality of Rome.


The material is divided in seven sections
I – From the military defeat to the armistice (nn. 1-175). Divided into two subsections:
1. The 45 days (nn. 1-111); 2. Porta S. Paolo (nn. 112-175).

II - The military occupation (nn. 176-336). Divided into five subsections:
1. Public policy - Police measures (nn. 176-214); 2. Open City-organization of the offices and the command (nn. 215-246); 3. Special teams (nn. 247-251); 4. Republican Fascist Party (nn. 252-266); 5. Accidents (nn.267-305); 6. Forced labor and robs of manpower (nn. 306-336).

III - The order of terror (nn. 337-684). Divided into 8 subsections: 1. Arrests, searches, detentions (nn. 337-377); 2. Roundups, internments, deportations (nn. 378-424); 3. The persecution of the Jews (nn. 425-518); 4. Prisons (nn. 519-534); 5. Military tribunals - executions (nn. 535-575); 6. Massacres and reprisals (nn. 576-614); 7. Ardeatine massacre (nn. 615-663); 8. German and Fascist authorities: announcements, statements, propaganda (nn. 664-684)

IV – Social and political situation (685-908). Divided into five subsections: 1. Public spirit (nn. 685-727); 2. Displaced (nn. 728-759); 3. Provision – black market (nn. 760-838); 4. Bombings (nn.839-879); 5. Church and society (nn. 880-908).

V - The resistance movement (nn. 909-1252). Divided into 6 subsections: 1. Organization and fight for liberation (nn. 909-944); 2.Clandestine propaganda (nn. 945-1001); 3. Strikes and protests (nn. 1002-1021); 4. Armed actions, sabotage, weapons seizures (nn. 1022-1163); 5. Formations and partisan bands (1164-1247); 6. Diary of the XIV german army (1248-1252).

VI - Anzio and Cassino (nn. 1253-1338). Divided into 5 subsections: 1. Failed uprising after the landing in Anzio (1253-1264); 2. The military situation (1265-1292); 3. The civilian population (1293-1317); 4.War prisoners (1318-1332); 5. Resistance posters (1333-1338).

VII – After the June 4 (nn. 1339-1370). Divided into two subsections: 1. The Liberation (1339-1359); 2. Processes to the fascists and collaborationists (1360-1370).

The set of documented and owned materials by the museum is progressively made available to the users (and in particular to the scholars) gradually to the work of sorting and inventorying.
The consultability is governed by the regulations concerning the archival heritage, administrative measures and privacy

logo mibactlogo regione laziologo comune roma